Why do you need to log in?
Most of the information we show on our website comes directly from Twitter. As an authorized application on Twitter we can make requests for information, but all our requests have to come either from users that have authorized our application, or from our app itself, which only has limited access to the Twitter API. By logging in you approve that our application can make requests to Twitter on your behalf, if and when you take actions that are available on our website.Our application only does what you ask it to do, it does not take any action by itself. People who choose not to log in can only make use of a limited number of tools, and only to view publicly available Twitter information!
Since we offer functionality where you can block, mute, follow and unfollow accounts, and post tweets, we require the authorization level that you see when you click the "Log In" button. Unfortunately Twitter does not offer more differentiated authorization levels that are just specific for each separate service that you may want to use on our website.
If you have logged in you can always revoke access from our application, or any other application, to your account on Twitter by clicking the following link: twitter.com/settings/applications